2-Star · 4-Star · 5-Star · Library · Uncategorized

Late April 2020 Wrap-Up

MPDI7248

April 2020 Wrap Up

April has been quite good for me so far and I really enjoyed what I read in this month. I read 6 books in April and I gave almost 4 stars to everything. Please not the almost!! Cause the last book in April was not something to my liking, but oh well! Now let’s off to see the list: Continue reading “Late April 2020 Wrap-Up”

Introduction

HATTER IS NOW BACK!

Mad Hatter GIFs - Get the best GIF on GIPHY

Hello everyone! It’s been so long for me to finally write something. I have had many good books so far in 2020 so I am very excited to share it to you. I will try to start something different in the blog, but for now I would just use the normal layout I’ve been using since before. I hope you would enjoy my review and tell me if you want to see anything else also in the website!

5-Star · ARC · Library

Blog Tour – Invisible in Bright Light #28

EGleJSpXkAI5Cbj

Title:Β Invisible in a Bright Light
Author:Β Sally Gardner
Publisher: Head of Zeus
Publication Date: 17 October 2019
Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟
Summary:
It is 1870: opening night at the Royal Opera House in a freezing city by the sea, where a huge, crystal chandelier in the shape of a galleon sparkles magically with the light of 750 candles.
Celeste, a theatre rat, wakes up in a costume basket from what she hopes is a bad dream, to find that everyone at the theatre where she works thinks she is someone else.
When the chandelier falls, she is haunted by a strange girl who claims to know Celeste’s past and why she must risk playing a game called the Reckoning to try to save the people she loves. Continue reading “Blog Tour – Invisible in Bright Light #28”

4-Star · ARC · Library

Book Review #27: The Girl the Sea Gave Back

Annotation 2019-09-12 142550

Title:Β The Girl the Sea Gave Back
Author:Β Adrienne Young
Publisher:Β Titan Books
Publication Date: 3 September 2019
Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟
Summary:

For as long as she can remember, Tova has lived among the Svell, the people who found her washed ashore as a child and use her for her gift as a Truthtongue. She has found a fragile place among those who fear her, but when two clans to the east bury their age-old blood feud and join together as one, her world is dangerously close to collapse. When her clan decide how they choose to survive, Tova must set in motion a series of events that could change her world forever.

Continue reading “Book Review #27: The Girl the Sea Gave Back”

4-Star · Library

Book Review #26: The Devouring Gray

WhatsApp Image 2019-08-05 at 13.38.24

Title:Β The Devouring Gray
Author:Β Christine Lynn Herman
Publisher: Titan Books
Publication Date: 16 April 2019
Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟
Summary:

#TheDevouringGrayΒ is a story of four teenagers battle an otherworldly beast that haunts the woods of a sleepy New York town. They have unique abilities to protect the town – but their powers are failing. As people start to die, the locals turn against their guardians – and it’s down to the friends to save them, regardless. For fans of Stranger Things, Riverdale, Buffy and Twin Peaks.

Continue reading “Book Review #26: The Devouring Gray”

4-Star · ARC · Library

Book Review #25: The Girl in Red

07d6192d-9c93-4c1f-8d51-20a64de54a39

Title:Β The Girl in Red
Author:Β Christina Henry
Publisher:Β Titan Books Ltd
Publication Date: 18 June 2019
Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟
Summary:

When a disease destroys most of the U.S. population Red and her brother Adam decide to try and reach their paternal grandmother, who lives over 200 miles away. Adam wants to join a quarantine camp, thinking it’s the only way to survive in this new world, but Red isn’t letting herself get shut away. Red is about to find out that the woods are deep and dark, and there are far worse things than wolves out in the world.

Continue reading “Book Review #25: The Girl in Red”

5-Star · Library

Book Review #24: The Magic Misfits #2

The Magic Misfits 2

Title:Β The Magic Misfits #2: The Second Story
Author:Β Neil Patrick Harris
Publisher: Little Brown Books
Publication Date: 20 October 2018
Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟
Summary:

Carter, Leila, Theo, Ridley, Izzy and Ollie all felt like outsiders, until they found each other and a shared love of magic and became… THE MAGIC MISFITS!
Leila didn’t have the easiest start, growing up in an orphanage and getting bullied for being different. But she has a super-cool secret skill… Leila is an escape artist! And it comes in pretty handy when belonging to a group of magical best friends.
When a famous psychic comes to town Leila and her pals realise they won’t be able to escape the big mystery coming their way. They soon find themselves chasing mad monkeys and banishing ghosts from haunted hotels… the Magic Misfits will do everything they can to save the town, will their magical skills be enough?
Join the Magic Misfits as they discover friendship, adventure and more than a few hidden secrets, in the series that has a magic trick or two up its sleeve.

Continue reading “Book Review #24: The Magic Misfits #2”

5-Star · Library

Book Review #23: The Magic Misfits #1

28107444. sx318

Title:Β The Magic Misfits #1
Author:Β Neil Patrick Harris
Publisher: Little Brown Books
Publication Date: 21st November 2017
Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟
Summary:

When street magician Carter runs away, he never expects to find friends and magic in a sleepy New England town. But like any good trick, things change instantly as greedy B.B. Bosso and his crew of crooked carnies arrive to steal anything and everything they can get their sticky fingers on.

After a fateful encounter with the local purveyor of illusion, Dante Vernon, Carter teams up with five other like-minded kids. Together, using both teamwork and magic, they’ll set out to save the town of Mineral Wells from Bosso’s villainous clutches. These sixΒ Magic MisfitsΒ will soon discover adventure, friendship, and their own self-worth in this delightful new series.

Continue reading “Book Review #23: The Magic Misfits #1”

5-Star · Library

Book Review #22: Wundersmith, The Calling of Morrigan Crow #2

Wundersmith

Title: Wundersmith: The Calling of Morrigan Crow #2
Author:Β Jessica Townsend
Publisher:Β Hachette Children’s Group
Publication Date: 30 October 2018
Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟
Summary:Β Imagination, discovery and friendship await Morrigan Crow when she escapes her deadly curse and joins the Wundrous Society. It promises her protection and belonging for life – but then Morrigan doesn’t receive the welcome she hoped for…
Morrigan is a much-feared Wundersmith. So, instead of the Society helping Morrigan to embrace her power, she is only taught that all Wundersmiths are evil and she must suppress her mysterious ability at all costs.
To make things worse, Nevermoor is quickly turning from a place of safety into one of danger. Society members are going missing, someone is blackmailing Morrigan’s new friends, turning them against her. And Ezra Squall, the evillest man who ever lived, is determined to lure Morrigan from the Society by promising to reveal the true nature of the Wunder that calls to her, which is becoming ever harder to resist…
Has Morrigan’s dream of escaping her cursed life ended before it truly began?

Book 1 Review

Continue reading “Book Review #22: Wundersmith, The Calling of Morrigan Crow #2”

5-Star · Library

Book Review #21: Nevermoor, The Trials of Morrigan Crow #1

Annotation 2019-04-15 152111.jpg

Title: Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow #1
Author:Β Jessica Townsend
Publisher:Β Hachette Children’s Group
Publication Date: 14 May 2018
Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟
Summary:Β Morrigan Crow is cursed, destined to die on her eleventh birthday. But, as the clock strikes midnight, she’s whisked away by a remarkable man called Jupiter North and taken to the secret city of Nevermoor. There she’s invited to join the Wundrous Society. Mystery, magic and protection are hers – if only she can pass four impossible trials, using an exceptional talent. Which she doesn’t have… Perfect for fans of the Harry Potter series and His Dark Materials, this series takes readers into an extraordinary world, setting hope and imagination alive.

Continue reading “Book Review #21: Nevermoor, The Trials of Morrigan Crow #1”